For the first batch of Agniveers, the clock was about to run out. Recruited in 2022 under the Agnipath scheme, their four-year tenure was ending this December — and under the rules as they stood, only one in four would be kept on as a regular soldier. On 4 November, that arithmetic changed completely. The Union Cabinet approved a second engagement of two years, and defence officials clarified the next day that after six years there is no numerical cap at all: every willing Agniveer who meets the criteria can become a regular soldier. It is the biggest change to the scheme since it began in June 2022, and it arrived just weeks before the first batch was due to leave.
What the Cabinet decided
The Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, approved a second engagement of two years for Agniveers after their initial four-year tenure. The decision was announced by Chief of Defence Staff General N S Raja Subramani on 4 November. In practice it means an Agniveer who joined in 2022 will now serve six years instead of four before facing the question of what comes next.
Defence Minister Rajnath Singh called the extra two years a “Second Tour of Duty”. The phrase matters because it frames the extension as a continuation of service, not a holding pattern: the two additional years are a second tour, after which the question of permanent enrolment is settled on a different basis than before.
From 25% to everyone willing
Under the Agnipath scheme as it operated until now, only 25% of Agniveers were retained as regular soldiers after four years. The remaining 75% left service. That 25% figure was the single most contested number in the scheme — the reason critics called it a short-term contract and supporters called it a way of picking the best for permanent service.
That number no longer applies. The remaining 75% now get the extra two years, and after that, all willing Agniveers can be enrolled as regular soldiers, subject to willingness, fitness, discipline and “objective selection criteria”. Defence officials clarified on 5 November that there is no numerical cap on the absorption of the 75% — in other words, the enrolment is not a competition for a fixed number of seats, but a test every willing Agniveer can pass if they meet the criteria.
The criteria themselves are the part to watch. Willingness, fitness and discipline are straightforward; “objective selection criteria” is the phrase that will carry the detail, and the detailed standards have not been published in the reports checked for this article. Whether the promise holds in practice will depend on what those criteria turn out to be.
Who it affects right now
About 18,300 Agniveers were due to exit by 31 December 2026 after completing four years. They are three-fourths of the 24,400 first-round recruits — the cohort that joined when the scheme began in June 2022. For them, the decision is not abstract: it is the difference between leaving service next month and serving two more years with a path to a permanent career.
The timing is the point. The announcement came weeks before the first batch was due to leave, after the scheme had become a top trending topic in India and a subject of political argument. The government’s decision answers the immediate question — what happens to the first batch — while leaving the longer question, how later batches will be treated, to be settled by how the new rules are applied.
What it is not: a rollback
Officials clarified on 5 November that the scheme itself has not been rolled back. The Agnipath scheme continues; what has changed is the tenure and the route to permanent enrolment within it. That distinction matters because the political argument around the scheme has often been framed as a choice between keeping it and scrapping it. The Cabinet’s decision is a third option: keep the scheme, lengthen the tenure, and open the permanent cadre to everyone willing who qualifies.
Reaction split along familiar lines. The Congress called the move a political “U-turn” tied to Rahul Gandhi’s criticism of the scheme; Assam Congress chief Gaurav Gogoi questioned the six-year route on job security and morale; Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma welcomed it as “earned trust”. The reactions are reported here as political responses, not as facts about the scheme itself.
What is still unknown
Two things were not in the reports checked for this article, and they are the two things Agniveers and their families will most want answered. First, the exact pay and pension terms after absorption as regular soldiers were not stated in the reports checked — this article does not state them, and any figure circulating without a source should be treated with caution. Second, whether the absorption promise will hold in the same form for later batches: officials spoke of “all serving Agniveers”, but the wording differs slightly across outlets, so the precise scope for future batches remains to be confirmed in official detail.
What is certain is the shape of the change: four years becomes six, 25% becomes everyone willing who qualifies, and the first batch — 18,300 young soldiers who expected to leave in December — now has two more years and a path to stay.
How long will Agniveers serve now?
Four years initially, plus a second engagement of two years approved by the Union Cabinet — six years in total before enrolment as a regular soldier.
Can every Agniveer become a regular soldier now?
After six years, all willing Agniveers can be enrolled as regular soldiers, subject to willingness, fitness, discipline and objective selection criteria. Defence officials clarified there is no numerical cap.
Has the Agnipath scheme been rolled back?
No. Officials clarified on 5 November that the scheme has not been rolled back; the tenure has been extended and the route to the regular cadre has been opened up.